Doug Losing Weight


A Technicolor Box of Vegetables
March 18, 2010, 4:17 am
Filed under: Nutrition | Tags: , , , , , , ,

I’m becoming really sensitive to the color brown. Have I talked about this before? Go to Wendy’s and look at the color of the stuff they give you on the tray. Brown. Some golden brown, some bunny (as in the bun on the sandwich) brown, some deep rich brown like the patty of mystery meat, some that chocolate brown of the frosty…

Just about anywhere you go they serve you brown. Deep fried brown.

Panda Express has been like that for me. I’ve been eating one “good” entree and Orange Chicken or Beijing Beef. I open the box and it’s brown. Brown chicken, brown beef. Delicious, but brown.

Then today they put up a new sign at the Panda Express I go to. First it announced instead of rice or chow mien I could have vegetables, and then there were six entrees listed that are under 250 calories each.

So I went for it. Vegetables, broccoli beef, mushroom chicken. I got back to my office and opened the box and it was in technicolor baby!

I mean it was a veritable feast for the eyes.

I did learn that you have to eat it fast, the vegetables don’t hold the heat as long as the brown. Wonder if there’s physics behind that somewhere… the color brown holds heat longer…  I’ll do some research.

Or not.

So I’m feeling better now. A box full of vegetables for lunch is going to be much better for me, my psyche, and my weight loss goals.

I thought you should know.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Sounds great. Beautiful brightly colored steamed vegetables…I agree that they are a feast for the eyes. I bet your body was happy to get to eat them as well!

Comment by Christine Elder




Leave a comment