Doug Losing Weight


Dreaming of Green
February 15, 2010, 6:18 pm
Filed under: Nutrition

So the most interesting thing has started to happen to me…

You know I haven’t been “trying” to lose weight for about two weeks now – I’ve simply been too sick to care, but some changes still seem to be at work in my life.

Saturday LeeAnn and I needed to go to Provo to support our son in an extracurricular activity.  We left at 12:30 and decided to grab something to eat on the way…

As I left I noticed the case of oranges in the garage – that might sound odd, we keep them there to keep them cool during the winter, and they are right by the door so the kids can grab one when they come in or leave.  I love it and eat a lot of them myself. – The box of oranges sitting there looked like a box of life, a box of health, hmmm, something like that.  It looked good and healthy and desirable to me.  I wanted something for lunch that was fresh, healthy, that would add color to my life.

Then I thought of the places we could stop.  Wendy’s is the stand by with the grilled chicken offerings, Carl’s Jr., McDonald’s was between us and the freeway… and all I could think was “brown”.  All of the food I could think of, even taking time to stop by Subway, seems brown and bland and dull to me.  I didn’t want to eat it.  With this came the realization that I’ve been thinking this way about fast food increasingly for about two weeks.  I simply don’t want to eat it anymore.

How could this be?  If you would have told me two months ago that I simply wouldn’t want to eat it, I’m not sure I would have believed you.  We ended up stopping by Wendy’s.  I got a Grilled Go-wrap and a small chili.  I bit into the chicken and had to look at it.  It didn’t taste like anything.  Has our food supply become so lackluster that we have to bread it and deep fat fry it to make it taste like something I wondered…

Swish-pan to today as I walk into a Whole Foods store.  It’s a grocery store.  Who knew?  I’ve seen the sign, had no idea what it was.  Christine recommended I go there for some juice.  It’s not cheap there, that’s for sure.  Organic is not cheap.  I still wrestle with the portions issue.  But if I can give my body the nutrition it wants with less food, maybe the organic stuff is a better value…

I went to the refrigerated beverage section.  Picked out two Acai juices, and a rice milk/wheat grass shake.  As I sat in my car and had my first swallow of the shake, my whole body rejoiced.  It was exactly the kind of “color” my body had wished for on Saturday.  There was no sugar added, and it tasted great.  Natural, healthy, and nutritious.

I’m going to try to eat less brown.  Brown can’t be good for you.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow. I am so PROUD of you I can’t stand it!

Comment by Christine Elder

[…] Technicolor Box of Vegetables I’m becoming really sensitive to the color brown. Have I talked about this before? Go to Wendy’s and look at the color of the stuff they give you on the tray. Brown. Some […]

Pingback by A Technicolor Box of Vegetables « Doug Losing Weight




Leave a comment