Doug Losing Weight


The Body Revolts
February 1, 2010, 3:41 am
Filed under: General Whining, isagenix

I was pretty sure that my body was going to have some issues with what I was doing with my nutrition.  I was not disappointed…

Headaches:

Coming off of Diet Coke was brutal.  Probably 8 days straight with a splitting headache.  I tried drinking a couple of swallows of DC to alleviate it, but it tasted so terrible to me I didn’t want to do it.  I found Excedrine helped on the very worst days.  Mostly I just toughed it out.  I knew I was paying a consequence for my actions, and I was smarter than my dumb body.

Also in this category I need to tell you about my migraines.  I would get them pretty frequently, and every Sunday I could count on one.  Eye fluttering, sensitivity to light, nauseous, you know, the fun kinds.  Since I have been on the program – no migraines!  I get headaches, but they are a different kind, and so much easier to live life with.

The other thing I *think* I’m noticing is that when I eat processed sugar, I’m getting these headaches in my forehead.  I’ll keep track of this in the coming days and see if that’s really what’s happening.

Fevers

At first whenever I drank anything from Isagenix, I would get really hot.  Well, my face and head would get really hot.  I would have my wife check and I was hot to the touch, but not running a fever according to the thermometer.

Then for a while when ever I ate anything it would happen.

As I type now I can feel it, I just had chicken parmesan, green beans, white rice, and a salad about an hour ago – oh, and a cupcake with no frosting.  I wonder if it’s the sugar that’s doing it…

It’s not too uncomfortable, I chalk it up to my body releasing toxins through this process and/or trying to talk me into going back to my old ways by throwing a fit like some two year old.  Not buying it.

One night it turned into a raging fever with sweats and chills all night long – crazy cool dreams though.  I’m not concerned enough to go see the doctor, I’ll keep you apprised as I keep going.

Arthritis

In the past when I’ve worked out for extended periods (30 minutes is extended when you’re fat) the next day has been unbearable.  My ankles and knees and feet being so sore I could barely walk.  I was willing to go through that this time to get to healthy, but much to my surprise…

It’s not happening.  I just went downstairs and back up here in my house, and I could do it without holding the handrail.  This is huge.  I was in so much pain before when I tried to exercise, and now it’s not there at all.  I have focused more on the bike this time, but there’s something else different.  I couldn’t be happier that this part is better than I expected.

Digestion

All systems are go.  Without being too graphic let me just say that my digestion has not worked this well for, well for 15 years that I can think of.

Sleep

Sleep like a baby for the most part, wake up before the alarm ready to go.

The exception to this is when I take Excedrin late at night.  In the old days with my DC consumption way up, I could take Excedrin anytime I wanted – no big deal.  Now, it’s a bid deal.  Spent a sleepless night last night due to mis-timed consumption of these pills.

I named this “Body Revolts” but really, the upsides are so much better than the downsides.  Hey this blogging thing is teaching me stuff!


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I am SO proud of you!!!! You are making great progress. My sister-in-law Megan gave up diet coke about 3 months ago. She use to have insane migraines all the time. She went through hell for about 9 days as well as her system detoxed from the diet coke, but she feels amazing now. She does get mild headaches, but nothing compared to the migraines!!! I really am so proud of you.

I wish Josh and I could afford to buy organic meat & produce. We have become really good about not eating the processed foods. I hope for a day soon where we can afford the hormone/pesticide free products, but it sure is pricey right now. Spring/Summer will be nice so we can plant lots of vegetables. Anyways, don’t know why I am blabbing. So happy to find this website!

Comment by Jen S




Leave a comment